210314-petermuijres-K85_6155.jpg

Drs. Peter Muijres, MA., MSc., PhD. cand.

The passion for what connects people and makes them unique has always fascinated and motivated me. After completing Master degrees in clinical psychology and medical anthropology, I have continued to develop as a therapist, researcher and trainer in culture and communication.

I have clinically worked with expats, parents, refugees and families, supporting them with anxiety, depression, stress, sleep problems, relationship conflicts or adjustment difficulties. In my work with a wide variety of people and their problems, I always try to tailor the best of different therapeutic approaches to the specific possibilities and needs of each individual.

After qualifying as a trainer in transcultural and systemic therapy in Amsterdam, I specialised in cultural psychiatry at University College London, focusing on intercultural training and expat adaptation.

Since 2016, I have been exploring the applications and benefits of Dignity Therapy in Switzerland in collaboration with USZ and City Hospital Waid. Until the end of 2018, I have been supporting people in the last stage of cancer; and between 2019 and 2022 people with early stage dementia, and their family. I coordinated Dignity Therapy study projects, train therapists, provide Dignity Therapies and offer Dignity Therapy courses in Switzerland.

CONTACT

Drs. Peter Muijres, MA., MSc., PhD. cand.

Psychologist and medical anthropologist 

+41 (0) 79 955 90 90

Drs. Peter Muijres, MA., MSc., PhD. cand.

Die Leidenschaft dafür, was Menschen verbindet und einzigartig macht, hat mich schon immer fasziniert und motiviert. Nach meinen Master-Abschlüssen in klinischer Psychologie und in medizinischer Anthropologie habe ich mich als Therapeut, Forscher, Kultur- und Kommunikationstrainer stetig weiterentwickelt. 

 

Dabei habe ich Expats, Eltern, Flüchtlinge und Familien behandelt und sie unterstützt bei Ängsten, Depressionen, Stress, Schlafproblemen, Beziehungskonflikten oder Anpassungsschwierigkeiten. Bei meiner Arbeit mit unterschiedlichsten Menschen und ihren Problemen versuche ich dabei stets, das Beste aus verschiedenen Therapieansätzen auf die spezifischen Möglichkeiten und Bedürfnisse jeder einzelnen Personen zuzuschneiden.

 

Nach einer Ausbildung als Trainer in transkulturellen und systemischen Methoden in Amsterdam habe ich mich am University College London auf die kulturelle Psychiatrie spezialisiert, vor allem auf interkulturelle Trainingsmethoden und Problembewältigung von Expats.

Die 2007 von mir initiierte Culture Class vereint eine inspirierende Mischung aus transkulturellem, kommunikativem und psychologischem Know-how mit einem innovativen Funken.

Seit 2016 erforsche ich die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten und den Nutzen der Dignity Therapy in der Schweiz. Bis Ende 2018 habe ich damit Personen mit einer unheilbaren Krebserkrankung unterstützt, seither stehen Menschen mit einer beginnenden Demenz, sowie ihre Angehörigen im Zentrum meiner Arbeit. Ich koordiniere Projekte, bilde Therapeuten aus, führe Dignity Therapien durch und leite Dignity-Therapy-Weiterbildungen in ganz Europa.

KONTAKT

Drs. Peter Muijres, MA., MSc., PhD. cand.
Psychologe und med. Anthropologe 

Universität Zürich
Kirchgasse 9
CH-8001 Zürich

+41 (0) 76 823 13 61

©2020 Dignity Therapy | Impressum | Datenschutz