The Dignity Therapy Training course

After this 2.5 day course, participants take home a comprehensive toolkit including all knowledge and skills a Dignity Therapist requires. The working principles of dignity in care, professional interviewing skills and editing techniques are trained in an interactive learning module, drawing from psychology and journalism, will fuel the quality of everyday care.

Methods include role plays, training exercises, clinical examples, with an emphasis on learning by doing. Also participants without a professional communication background, develop the skills and confidence they need to encourage the sharing of memories, lessons and love in rich, flowing interviews and moving documents.

This training workshop will also address:
  • How to handle difficult interview situations.
  • Taking into account cultural differences.
  • Ethical considerations in the editing process.
  • The evidence-based scientific support for Dignity Therapy.
Dignity Therapy provides an evidence based tool to discover the person behind the patient, increase self esteem, improve social relations and so much more.

Who should participate?
This workshop is available for nurses, chaplains, counsellors, doctors, social workers, psychologists, activation therapists and creative therapists. Especially people in healthcare working with early stage dementia patients or patients at the end of life would benefit from this approach.

Training workshop size
The size of the training workshop is between 5 and 20 attendees, to ensure a personalised and interactive learning experience. Course completion represents 20 hours of professional development. Participants receive a certificate of attendance at the end of the course.

Material
No previous knowledge is required.
All necessary learning materials will be supplied. Reading the book "Dignity Therapy: Final Words for Final Days" by Harvey Max Chochinov is encouraged.

Costs and location
A Dignity Therapy Training can be offered in-house on location.
 
The Theological faculty of University of Zurich, Switzerland will host a 2.5 day Dignity Training Workshop in 2020, date to be confirmed.

The fee is 450 euro or 475 chf and includes the workshop, lunch (except on the halfday) and a workshop booklet. Registrations are transferrable.



Dignity Therapy Training Workshop

The essentials of applied dignity in care, advanced interviewing and editing skills in an intensive 2.5 day workshop

Der Dignity Therapy Trainingkurs

Während eines 2,5-tägigen Kurses erhalten die Teilnehmenden eine umfassende Schulung in den Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten, die ein Dignity-Therapeut benötigt. In einem interaktiven Lernmodul schulen wir den Umgang mit Würde in der Pflege, professionelle Interviewfähigkeiten und Editiertechniken aus Psychologie und Journalismus.

Zu den Methoden gehören Rollenspiele, Trainingsübungen und klinische Beispiele mit Schwerpunkt auf praktischem Lernen. Die Teilnehmenden üben, wie sie zu reichhaltigen, fliessenden Interviews und bewegenden Dokumenten gelangen, um die Erinnerungen, Lektionen und die Liebe zu feiern, die eine Person zu teilen hat.

Dieser Workshop befasst sich ausserdem mit:
  • Umgang mit schwierigen Interviewsituationen.
  • Umgang mit kulturellen Unterschieden.
  • Ethische Überlegungen im Bearbeitungsprozess.
  • Die evidenzbasierte Unterstützung für die Würde-Therapie.
Die Dignity-Therapie bietet ein evidenzbasiertes Instrument, um die Person mit ihren Anliegen hinter dem Patienten zu entdecken, das Selbstwertgefühl zu steigern, die sozialen Beziehungen zu verbessern und noch vieles mehr.

Wer sollte teilnehmen?
Im Gesundheitsbereich Tätige, die mit Patienten mit unheilbaren Krankheiten wie Demenz oder Krebs arbeiten, darunter Krankenschwestern, Pfarrer, Berater, Ärzte, Sozialarbeiter, Psychologen, Aktivierungstherapeuten und kreative Therapeuten.

Grösse der Trainingsworkshops
Die Grösse des Trainingsworkshops liegt zwischen 5 und 20 Teilnehmenden, um eine personalisierte und interaktive Lernerfahrung zu gewährleisten. Der Abschluss des Kurses umfasst 20 Stunden berufliche Entwicklung. Die Teilnehmenden erhalten am Ende des Kurses eine Teilnahmebescheinigung.

Material
Vorkenntnisse sind nicht erforderlich.
Alle notwendigen Lernmaterialien werden zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Lesen des Buches "Würde-Therapie: Letzte Worte für die letzten Tage" von Harvey Max Chochinov wird empfohlen.

Kosten und Standort
Die Theologische Fakultät der Universität Zürich, Schweiz, veranstaltet 2020 einen 2,5-tägigen Workshop zum Thema Würde. Der Termin muss noch bestätigt werden.

Die Gebühr von 475 CHF / 450 Euro beinhaltet Workshop, Mittagessen (ausser am halben Tag) und ein Workshop-Heft. Anmeldungen sind übertragbar.

Dignity Therapy Training Workshop

Die Prinzipien hinter
Dignity in Care und professionelle Interview- und Editierfertigkeiten in einem
2,5-tägigen Workshop.